Security groups contain a set of permission that govern the actions users are able to perform within Flowgear.

Users can be assigned to multiple security groups to create a composite set of permissions. This article lists the permissions that are associated with each security group.

Account Administrator

Allows a user to manage their Flowgear Account (not the same as the user account) including viewing a list of accounts and the subscriptions on those accounts. Account Administrators can also add or remove other Account Administrators.

Permissions included:

  • Edit an Account
  • Edit the Users assigned to an Account
  • Grant Security Group assignment of a User to an Account
  • Publish a Node
  • Revoke Security Group assignment of a User to an Account
  • View a list of Accounts

Site Administrator

Grants full access to a specific Flowgear Site. This is the default role for the owner of a Site.

Permissions included:

  • Add a new Site
  • Add an API Key
  • Change the Configuration data for a Site
  • Change the design of a Workflow
  • Change the Startup Mode of a Workflow
  • Create a Data Imports Template
  • Debug a Node via a DropPoint
  • Delete an API Key
  • Delete a Connection
  • Delete a Site
  • Delete a Workflow
  • Deregister a DropPoint from a Site
  • Edit a Connection
  • Edit a DropPoint
  • Edit an API Key
  • Edit a Site
  • Edit the Users assigned to a Site
  • Grant Security Group assignment of a User to a Site
  • Import a template using Data Imports
  • Promote a Workflow to the next Site Environment
  • Register a DropPoint into a Site
  • Revoke Security Group assignment of a User to a Site
  • Start a Workflow or Node Invoke
  • Stop a Workflow or Node Invoke
  • View a list of API Keys
  • View a list of Activity Logs
  • View a list of Connections
  • View a list of DropPoints in a Site
  • View a list of Workflows
  • View details of an API Key
  • View details of a Connection
  • View details of a DropPoint
  • View the Configuration data for a Site
  • View the design of a Workflow
  • View the details of a Site
  • View the details of Activity Logs
  • View the status of a Workflow
  • View the Workflow Interface

Site Manager

Permits a user to view lists of Workflows, Connections and DropPoints as well as run Workflows. Site Managers are not able to view or save Workflow designs but can view and save Connections.

Permissions included:

  • Add a new Site
  • Change the Configuration data for a Site
  • Change the Startup Mode of a Workflow
  • Create a Data Imports Template
  • Deregister a DropPoint from a Site
  • Edit a Connection
  • Edit a DropPoint
  • Edit a Site
  • Import a template using Data Imports
  • Register a DropPoint into a Site
  • Start a Workflow or Node Invoke
  • Stop a Workflow or Node Invoke
  • View a list of Connections
  • View a list of DropPoints in a Site
  • View a list of Workflows
  • View details of a Connection
  • View details of a DropPoint
  • View the Configuration data for a Site
  • View the details of a Site
  • View the details of Activity Logs
  • View the status of a Workflow
  • View the Workflow Interface

Site Viewer

Permits a user to view lists of Workflows, Connections and DropPoints. Users are able to run Workflows but can't view or change Workflow design or Connections.

Permissions included:

  • Change the Startup Mode of a Workflow
  • Create a Data Imports Template
  • Import a template using Data Imports
  • Start a Workflow or Node Invoke
  • Stop a Workflow or Node Invoke
  • View a list of Connections
  • View a list of DropPoints in a Site
  • View a list of Workflows
  • View details of a DropPoint
  • View the Configuration data for a Site
  • View the details of a Site
  • View the details of Activity Logs
  • View the status of a Workflow
  • View the Workflow Interface

Task Starter

Permits a task to be started. Use this Security Group for user accounts that will be used to invoke a Workflow via API.

Permissions included:

  • Start a Workflow or Node Invoke
  • View the status of a Workflow
  • View the Workflow Interface

Workflow Designer

Permits a user to design Workflows but not access Connection details.

Permissions included:

  • Change the design of a Workflow
  • Change the Startup Mode of a Workflow
  • Delete a Workflow
  • Promote a Workflow to the next Site Environment
  • Share a Workflow
  • View a list of Activity Logs
  • View a list of Connections
  • View a list of Workflows
  • View the design of a Workflow
  • View the details of Activity Logs
  • View the Workflow Interface

Workflow Viewer

Permits view of Workflow design area but not the ability to save Workflows. Use for users who need to oversee implementation but won't make design changes.

Permissions included:

  • View a list of Activity Logs
  • View a list of Connections
  • View a list of DropPoints in a Site
  • View a list of Workflows
  • View the design of a Workflow
  • View the details of a Site
  • View the details of Activity Logs
  • View the status of a Workflow
Did this answer your question?